pumpkin pie muffins.

An excuse to eat pumpkin-pie-like baked goods more than once a year! Woo!

I err on the side of not making muffins too sweet because I think a firmer line between cakes and muffins needs to be established. And I’m the lady to do it.

Recognizing that many of you are not as intense as I am and are not in the business of preserving the integrity of the muffin, however, I’ve given you a range for the sugar. I use the lowest amount, which yields a slightly sweet crumb. (If I hadn’t eaten an ungodly amount of pizza this weekend, I’d totally smother these in maple cream cheese frosting… thereby rendering my mission fruitless. Or I’d inject the frosting into the middle using a frosting piper, which sounds fun.)

Anywho, I hope these make a nice accompaniment to your day!

lv, molly

Pumpkin Muffins

Makes one dozen
Adapted from Gourmet Magazine

1 1/2 C white whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 can organic pumpkin
1/3 C canola oil
2 eggs
1 teaspoon pumpkin-pie spice (or 1/2 tsp cinnammon + 1/4 tsp ginger + 1/4 tsp nutmeg)
3/4 C to 1 1/4 C organic sugar (plus 1 Tbl sugar)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350°F. Put liners in muffin cups. Whisk together pumpkin, oil, eggs, pumpkin pie spice, sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl until smooth, then whisk in flour mixture until just combined. Stir together cinnamon and remaining 1 tablespoon sugar in another bowl.

Divide batter among muffin cups (each should be about three-fourths full), then sprinkle tops with cinnamon-sugar mixture. Bake until puffed and golden brown and wooden pick or skewer inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

