i love breakfast [for a dinner party]!

Le Menu

Dinner parties are stressful. But breakfast is wonderful.

No matter how much I love feeding my friends and delighting in a new recipe, I know that I turn into a freakshow/ball of stress on the day of the event, and consequently may not have as much fun at the soiree as I probably should because it’s, well, a party afterall. With this in mind, I decided to create the least stressful dinner party I’ve ever hosted.

by doing away with dinner entirely! (This feels revolutionary. I’m not sure it is, but bear with me because I’m excited about it.)

Instead, I opted for breakfast favorites and mimosas made with cheap champagne. I wore cozy socks, flipped pancakes, sipped on Irish coffee, and had a wonderful time with my friends. How have I never thought of this before? EVERYONE LOVES BREAKFAST! And people don’t necessarily want fancy food at a party! They just want to have fun and drink something tasty! And so what if you serve the misshapen pancakes as an appetizer!

My point is that breakfast for dinner is the cure to the dinner party woes to which I had too long subjected myself.

Here are some of the recipes so you can throw your very own breakfast for dinner dinner party!

lv, molly

The table all set-- doesn't it look ominous? How misleading!

Oven Omelet

Adapted from The Kitchn
Serves 6*

10 large eggs
2 C milk (not fat free)
1 C grated Parmesan cheese
1 C diced cooked ham OR 3 Italian veggie sausages, crumbled (I used the latter)
1/4 cup finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
1 tsp salt
Freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking dish with olive oil or nonstick cooking spray.
Beat the eggs in a large bowl, and whisk in the milk. Stir in the cheese, diced ham or veggie sausage, and parsley. Season with the salt and pepper, and pour into the prepared pan. (At this point the casserole can be covered and refrigerated for up to 24 hours.)
Bake for 45 minutes, or until the top is slightly golden and a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let cool for 5 minutes before slicing. Serve hot.

*I doubled this recipe for 9 people, and it was all gone!

Other Recipes:

Nutmeg & Cinnamon Spiced Oatmeal Pancakes

Potatoes O’Brien

Fruit Salad: apples + blackberries + navel orange + lemon juice

Mimosas: bad champagne + orange juice

Bacon: bacon*

I like this picture because everyone looks awkward.

*And no, I haven’t become an omnivore. In order to delight guests, bacon seemed necessary.

One thought on “i love breakfast [for a dinner party]!

  1. Pingback: favorite recipes of 2011. « joie de vivre!

Leave a Reply

