chocolate dream cookies.

I saw these and my heart skipped a beat. I am prone to hyperbole when it comes to food (amongst other things).

But look. Really. Cocoa, dark chocolate, peanut butter. Yes, please.

I read about these as I watched a special on Pompeii. It had dramatic music, sensationalistic narration, and sunsets. Naturally, I enjoyed this very much, and its presence in the backgrounded lent a particularly dramatic note to the creation of these cookies. Certainly not worthy of a Discovery channel documentary… but damn good.

I am a nerd if you haven’t yet concluded that.

Since I almost always reduce the sugar in baked goods, my palate has completely changed. I now find most baked goods too sweet. I think the sugar gets in the way of the star ingredients– the chocolate and the peanut butter. So I reduced the sugar content, and the other ingredients’ flavors are more pronounced. Perfectly rich and chocolatey, but not sickeningly sweet.

The fleur de sel (and hold up, I’m going to sound pretentious here) brings out the saltiness of the peanut butter and adds a nice balance to the sweetness of the chocolate chips. It elevated the cookies from good to great, so don’t skip it!

lv, molly

P.S. I love historical reenactments! The city of Pompeii is currently being acted out by 21st century actors in a horribly shot montage. I always wonder who these actors are and how I can be one.

Dark Chocolate Chip Dream Cookies

Makes about 30 cookies

1/2 C white whole wheat flour
1 C all purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, slightly softened (OR canola oil– I use this)
1 C sugar
1/2 C chunky peanut butter
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
10 oz. dark chocolate chips
Fleur de sel, for topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a small bowl, mix flour, cocoa, soda and salt using a wire whisk and set aside.
In another bowl, cream butter or oil, sugar and peanut butter until light and fluffy.
Add eggs and vanilla and mix until combined.
Add flour mixture to creamed mixture and mix until combined.
Stir in dark chocolate chips.
Roll cookie dough into 1-1/4 inch balls. (If desired, roll balls in chopped pecans.)
Place on parchment paper covered baking sheet.
Bake 10-12 minutes.
Place cookies on cookie rack to cool. Sprinkle with fleur de sel.

One thought on “chocolate dream cookies.

  1. Oh, my gosh. These look like a chocolate lovers’ dream! I’m definitely saving this recipe. Hope you enjoy the spice cookies if you make them! Happy Holidays :)

Leave a Reply

