gingerbread men!!!

First things first, I have some really exciting news. CHRISTIAN GOT ME A KITCHEN AIDE MIXER!!! It’s magical with its sleek white exterior, stainless steel bowl, and quick mixing capabilities! It emulsified melted butter and brown sugar like nobody’s business! This thing might be the best thing to happen to my kitchen since… well, who knows. It tops everything I have, and my love for it may be approaching obsession.

I'm sorry for being so awkward-- I don't think I can help it.

It’s nearing winter break, and I’ve decided to be a nicer teacher than I normally am (ha… kidding… no, I’m not; I gave them an incredibly hard exam today) by baking several kinds of cookies for my students. I polled the Seniors, and gingerbread men and chocolate chip came out on top. I decided not to healthify these recipes because, well, it’s the holidays. And my classroom policy is that students can only eat fruits and vegetables (they must think I’m such a hippie), so this will be quite the treat.

This is a standard recipe for gingerbread cookies that I picked up from Martha Stewart. It yields a beautiful dough that’s perfectly pliable– great for cookie cutters. Speaking of cookie cutters, have a look at these gingerbread men. Ha!

Without further adieu, cookies… and now I shall proceed to sleep after a long day of grading and listening to the Home Alone soundtrack.

lv, molly

Until I have the ninja gingerbread man cookie cutter, this will have to suffice.

Gingerbread Cookies

Makes about 2 dozen

2 C all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 C (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/3 c packed dark-brown sugar
1/3 C unsulfured molasses
1 large egg
Decorating sugar or sprinkles (optional)

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, spices, baking soda, and salt; set aside. With an electric mixer, beat butter and brown sugar until smooth. Beat in molasses and egg. With mixer on low, add dry ingredients; mix just until a dough forms. Place dough on floured plastic wrap; pat into an 8-inch square. Wrap well; chill until firm, 1 to 2 hours.

Divide dough in half. Working with one half at a time (rewrap and refrigerate other half), place dough on floured parchment or waxed paper; roll out 1/8 inch thick, turning, lifting, and flouring dough (and rolling pin) as needed. Freeze dough (on paper) until firm, about 20 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 degress.

Loosen dough from paper. Cut out shapes, and transfer to baking sheets. Decorate with sugar or sprinkles, as desired.

Bake until firm and edges just begin to darken, 10 to 18 minutes, depending on size. Cool completely on baking sheets.

All ready to take to school!

Home Alone soundtrack…. YESSS!!!

One thought on “gingerbread men!!!

Leave a Reply

