one-bowl chocolate cake.

It’s Friday night; the snow hasn’t melted; and I’m under the weather. What to do? Why, bake a cake, of course. Exactly what any civilized lady would do. (I’ve been watching way too much “Downton Abbey” this week, and it’s caused me to say “civilized” more than anyone should, though I suppose in that world [early 20th century Downton] no civilized woman would be caught baking. Good heavens.)

Due to the above factors, I also wanted to make something quick and simple without sacrificing taste. That’s where Deb from Smitten Kitchen came in. I altered her recipe ever so slightly (swapped canola oil for butter- I couldn’t help myself) and added the teensiest bit of whole grain flour to appease my health-conscious self. Which was all probably very silly because I’m baking A CAKE.

What are your simplest indulgences? I can’t wait to cut myself a second slice and watch the next episode of you know what (what will happen to Mr. Bates?!?!)…

lv, molly

Everyday Chocolate Cake

1/2 C canola oil or butter
1 Cfirmly packed light brown sugar
1/2 C granulated sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
1 C buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 C white whole wheat flour
1 C all-purpose flour
3/4 C Dutch cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 325°F. Butter and lightly flour a 9×5×3-inch loaf pan, or spray it with a butter-flour spray. In a large bowl or Kitchen Aid (wooo!), cream the butter/oil and the sugars until smooth. Add the egg and beat well, then the buttermilk, and vanilla. Add all the dry ingredients to the bowl. Stir together with a spoon until well-blended but do not overmix. Scrape down the batter in the bowl, making sure the ingredients are well blended.

Pour the batter into the loaf pan. Bake for 60 to 70 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan on a rack for about 10 to 15 minutes, at which point you can remove it and start eating if you can’t help yourself. If you’re feeling fancy, add some whipped cream.

2 thoughts on “one-bowl chocolate cake.

  1. This, yes! I baked the Smitten Kitchen version last week, and my boyfriend declared it “best ever.” By the way, your neighbors to the south in Portland were all very jealous of your snow days—we’re all just riding the bus to work in the rain with pinched looks on our faces. But the cake helps!

    • Now I wish I’d used butter! I got “good” but not “best ever.” As a teacher, I reveled in the snow day, and they ultimately led to my demise– too much “Downton Abbey” watching, cake-eating, and trashy novel reading!!

Leave a Reply

