herb-stuffed tomatoes (& other things!).

The theme of last night’s dinner party was “food stuffed with other food.” A lot of double entendres happened.

(That sounds passive because I don’t like to admit that I made most of them.)

I was given the charge of making herb-stuffed tomatoes. Annika and I did so lazily, as we sipped wine out of gold-plated tea cups (even more satisfying than using a goblet– who knew?), and used this miraculous device to chop all the ingredients. It felt like using an old fashioned lawn mower, and it’s impossible to use it without looking somewhat maniacal. In other words, I loved it.

Other things on the menu? Chile rellenos, dolmas, stuffed onions, dumplings, and cannoli for dessert. YUM!

lv, molly

Herb-Stuffed Tomatoes

1 onion, chopped finely
20 wrinkly black olives, chopped roughly
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbl mint, chopped
2 Tbl oregano, chopped
2 Tbl flat leaf parsley, chopped
1 1/2 Tbl capers, roughly chopped
1/2 C panko bread crumbs
4 tomatoes

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Saute the onions, garlic, and olives in 1 Tbl olive oil for 5-6 minutes, until onions are translucent. Toss the onion mixture with all the other ingredients, minus the tomatoes…
Cut the top 1/5 of the tomato off. Scoop out the insides, and salt the tomato. Place upside down over some paper towels to let any remaining moisture drain. Let rest for 10 minutes. Then stuff. Bake for 35-45 minutes.

THE AMAZING CHOPPER!!

4 thoughts on “herb-stuffed tomatoes (& other things!).

  1. I want that veggichop vegetable chopper, it would be so handy! Sipping wine out of gold plated cups sounds posh :) I’ve never tried stuffed tomatoes before (only mushrooms!) but I love baked tomatoes so this is on my to-do list!

  2. I find it hard to believe that there is anything more satisfying then drinking wine out of a goblet. However, I will give you the benefit of the doubt and try my pinot noir out of a vintage tea cup tonight!

    • It was awesome! It’s mildly stressful to all cook together, however, so I recommend trying this out potluck style!

Leave a Reply

