book worm.

Pinned Image

Lately I’ve been reading much more than I had been. I had [temporarily] forgotten the joy of reading which is, of course, ironic since one of my goals as a teacher is to instill in my students a love for reading.

I love the feeling of being totally immersed in what I’m reading, of thinking about ideas and feelings I hadn’t meaningfully understood previously, of putting myself in a completely different time period with characters whose experiences teach me something about my own. It broadens my understanding of, well, everything. And sometimes it makes me laugh.

I think, ultimately, what I love about reading most is its uncanny ability to help me be more empathetic.

(And I love that it gives you something more interesting to talk about than “The Bachelor.”)

What have you been reading? Any book recommendations?

Here are mine: one terribly trashy novel with hilarious sex scenes, one for sheer entertainment with some pithy self-reflection thrown in for good measure, and one beautifully written work of art that made me cry. Variety is good in our diets and good in our book choices too.

lv, molly

{This trashy novel features horrible double entendres and is set in the Scottish highlands– what more could you ask for? Oh, intelligence and depth? See below, dear friend!}

{This book is hilarious, honest, and self-depricating. And even insightful– her reflection on her friendship with gay men is amazing. I love this book.}

{This book is, simply put, one of the most beautiful books I’ve read. Normally when a novel gets a lot of hype, I look the other way. But it came highly recommended from teachers I respect, and I fell in love with it from the first page on.}

5 thoughts on “book worm.

  1. Molly, have you read Everything Is Illuminated? I think it’s even better than Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. After one read it made it’s way onto my top 5 favorite books that I’ve ever read!

    • I haven’t read it yet, but I hear it’s amazing. Thank you for the recommendation– I can’t wait to read it!!

    • Seconded! And while you’re at it, go read everything by Nicole Krauss if you haven’t already. Start with Great House. You will not regret it.

  2. Hi Molly, I stumbled across your lovely blog just recently, and I can’t resist commenting on this post. If you’re looking for something just a little, well, different, I can’t recommend Amelia Gray’s Museum of the Weird enough. She’s one of my favorite writers, and she actually has her first novel coming out next week!

Leave a Reply

