cuban black beans & rice.

I added habanero hot sauce to this and ran around the kitchen fanning my mouth as though that were an effective cure to an acute case of burned mouth and esophagus. Its only effect, sadly, was to make me look like I was seizing. I was also wearing an apron, slippers, and two sweaters when this happened, so that didn’t really help my case.

I digress, dear reader!

I love this meal! This post is supposed to be about it, after all, but sometimes I get distracted by the embarrassing or awkward memories I associate with recipes (so many memories to choose from!). Or maybe it’s my case of self-diagnosed A.D.D.

This meal’s surprisingly delicious considering how straightforward it is, and it’s an easy dinner to make on a weeknight when you’re exhausted from work and all you want to do is watch “Joe Millionaire” and giggle at others’ terribly vain misfortunes. Remember that show? Just me?

lv, molly

Cuban Black Beans & Rice

1 cup long-grain white rice or short-grain brown rice
1 Tbl olive oil
1/2 onion, chopped
1 bell pepper, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
2 cloves garlic, chopped
kosher salt and black pepper
1 tsp ground cumin
1/3 tsp chili powder
2 15.5-ounce cans black beans, rinsed
1 teaspoon dried oregano
4 radishes, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1/4 cup fresh cilantro
sharp cheddar or cojita cheese (optional- the first picture has cheese; the one below is sans cheese)
hot sauce (optional- but please, don’t use habanero; spare yourself the pain!)

Cook the rice according to the package directions.
Meanwhile, heat the oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat.
Add the onion, bell pepper, garlic, 1 teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, 5 to 7 minutes.
Stir in the cumin and chili powder, and cook for 1 minute.
Add the beans, oregano, and 1 cup water. Simmer, covered, for 10 minutes.
Smash some of the beans with the back of a fork to thicken. Serve over the rice. Top with the radishes and cilantro.

YUMMMMM! :)

Lastly, the bane of my existence:

2 thoughts on “cuban black beans & rice.

Leave a Reply

