salty sweet cookies.

Behold the perfect chocolate chip cookie!

When I first discovered that chocolate and salt were a “thing,” I went overboard thinking of the combinations. Salty caramel and chocolate. Dark chocolate with sprinkles of salt. Oh, the possibilities! This combination contributed to my love of baked goods and my previously expanding waistline, which has since been kept in check by employing something called “moderation,” a concept which took me years to understand.

This morning when a dire headache hit at work and I was struggling to read essays without pulling my hair out, I did two things: looked at pictures of the Westminster dog show and compared the dogs’ appearance with their owners’ (often creepily and amusingly similar) and hopped on over to Cup of Jo. There I found a recipe for Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Fleur de Sel. Naturally, I had to make them immediately.

That dream became a reality later this afternoon, and the cookies are now beckoning me from the kitchen with their salty sweet goodness. They may be my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe, and I’ve tried a whole lot. I had a hard time not eating the batter, but I was reminded of moderation, and I held back. Sort of.

If you’d like the original recipe, click here. I made mine a tad healthier with white whole wheat flour and Earth Balance instead of butter. Other than that, I stuck to the original recipe. Have a wonderful Wednesday, and I hope these cookies bring some happiness into your home. :)

lv, molly

P.S. When you roll the dough in parchment paper, the product resembles something the boys in Pineapple Express enjoyed. I chuckled. Another reason to make these– you may laugh at something immature!!

Salty Sweet Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 2 dozen small cookies

1 stick unsalted butter or Earth Balance, at room temperature
1/2 cup packed light muscovado or brown sugar
1/4 cup natural cane sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg, at room temperature
1 cup white whole wheat flour (or all purpose)
1/2 teaspoon fleur de sel, plus more for topping
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup chocolate chunks or chips

In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the butter, muscovado sugar, natural cane sugar and vanilla extract. Mix with the paddle attachment on medium speed for 2 minutes until light. Scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl. Add the egg, and mix until combined.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, fleur de sel, and baking soda. Add the dry ingredients into the butter mixture, and mix on medium speed until the dough comes together. Add the chocolate chunks, and mix until thoroughly.

Scoop the dough onto a piece of parchment paper. With the help of the parchment, roll the dough into a log that is approximately 2 inches in diameter and 12 inches long. Wrap the log with the parchment ,and refrigerate for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 350F. Cut the log into 1/2-inch disks. Place them on baking sheets lined with parchment paper or silicone mats leaving 2 inches in between the cookies.

Sprinkle the tops with a bit of fleur de sel. Bake for 11 to 12 minutes or until edges set and start to turn golden. They might look a bit underdone, but this is fine. They will harden as they cool and slightly under-baking them will keep them chewy and moist.

Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes. Store them in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

P.P.S. Don’t be embarrassed to listen to Wilson Philips’ “Hold On” as you make these. That’s what I did because Christian isn’t home…

4 thoughts on “salty sweet cookies.

  1. oh sweet baby Jesus! i must make these NOW! too bad i am fresh out of brown sugar! how did i let this happen!? they look awesome Molly, can i have one?

    • They’re really good, even with non-dairy butter, which was surprising. Go get some brown sugar, and enjoy! :)

      • I have a similar recipe I started making last Christmas that is more “healthy” then my previous chocolate chip cookie. anyway, you got me all thinking about cookies so i went ahead and made mine yesterday. i posted the recipe on my blog if you would like to try it out…it calls for honey instead of sugar and you could also use non-dairy butter if you like :) Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

        • I’m going to have a look now! Thank you. I always prefer using honey than refined sugar. Have a wonderful day!!

Leave a Reply

