a spring dinner.

It’s been so long since I last posted that I incorrectly typed my middle name in the URL. And no, folks, no hyperbole here. That is probably more indicative of my general inability to concentrate than the duration of time that’s passed. You see, it’s the end of the quarter. And grading (lots of grading) calls. It is by far my least favorite part of this profession.

In spite of the large piles of paper that are swallowing me whole, I’ve managed to cook regularly. It’s always a refuge from stress for me. I made a big pot of Tuscan bean soup with swiss chard, a deliciously indulgent pancake brunch on Saturday, lentils braised in red wine, and noodles with ginger and cucumber. Simple and good recipes I’m excited to share with you over the coming days as my work load recedes.

Let’s start with the noodles. This dish is light and tasty, like a Bahn Mi sandwich in noodle bowl form. We served ours with tofu for extra protein.

How have you been, friends and readers? I hope your Spring is off to a delicious start.

lv, molly

Ginger Noodle Bowl*

*You may wish to serve with a side of tofu; it helped the dish feel more like a meal, less like a side

soba noodles – 1 9oz packet. (I used a different variety based on what I had on hand)
salt & pepper to taste
sesame seeds – 2 Tbsp lightly toasted.
cucumber thinly julienned or chopped
carrots thinly julienned or chopped
Cilantro to taste

For sweet ginger scallion sauce:

1 1/2 finely chopped scallions
2 Tbl ginger minced
1/4 C chopped cilantro
2-3 Tbl neutral oil (canola, sesame)
2 tsp chili oil
1 Tbl soy sauce
2 Tbl rice wine vinegar
2 Tbl honey
salt and pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients for sauce in a bowl, check for the seasoning. Keep it aside for 10 -15 minutes for the flavors to develop.

Boil the soba noodles as per the instruction on the package. Drain well, and rinse with cold water.

Add the sauce, sesame seeds, and veggies, and toss the noodles well, check for the seasoning one last time. Sprinkle lime juice if you like. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

